Bumrah receives Polly Umrigar and Dilip Sardesai awards

India spearhead Jasprit Bumrah on Sunday headlined the BCCI Annual Awards function, grabbing the prestigious Polly Umrigar award apart from annexing the Dilip Sardesai honour for his exploits in international cricket in the 2018-19 season.

Polly Umrigar award is presented to the best male International cricketer and it carries a citation, trophy and cheque for ₹15 lakh.

Dilip Sardesai award is conferred on both the highest wicket-taker and highest run-getter in Test cricket. Bumrah took 34 wickets in six matches with three five-wicket hauls.

Prolific Saurashtra batsman Chetshwar Pujara was picked for the honour for scoring 677 runs in 8 matches at an average of 52.07 with three centuries and two half centuries.

Bumrah, the world’s number ODI bowler made his Test debut during India’s tour of South Africa in January 2018 and hasn’t looked back since.

He picked up a five-wicket haul in South Africa, England, Australia and the West Indies, becoming the first and only Asian bowler to achieve the feat.

He played a stellar role in the historic 2-1 Test series win in Australia, India’s first Down Under and which helped them retain the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

While Bumrah netted the biggest prize in the men’s category, Poonam Yadav claimed the top prize in women’s section and was awarded the best international cricketer.

The award will be another feather in the leg-spinner’s cap who recently received the Arjuna Award.

Former India captains Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra were presented the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award and the BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award for women respectively.

A member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, Srikkanth took on the fearsome West Indies fast bowlers and scored an attacking 38, the top individual score in the low-scoring final at the Lord’s.

He also captained India and post-retirement served as the chief selector and it was during his tenure that the 2011 World Cup squad was picked.

Anjum is one of the finest batswomen and the first Indian to play 100 ODIs. In a career spanning 17 years, Anjum represented India in four 50-over World Cups and two T20 World Cup (played in one).

Mayank Agarwal, who emerged as an impact batsman starting with his debut series in Australia in 2018-19, received the best international debut in men’s category while talented 15-year-old Shafali Verma grabbed the same in the women’s category.

Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube, who impressed in the recently concluded T20 series against Sri Lanka, was presented the Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in the Ranji Trophy while Delhi’s Nitish Rana received the same for doing well in the limited overs competition.

India’s middle-order batsmwoman Deepti Sharma received the Jagmohan Dalmiya Trophy for best woman cricketer in senior domestic circuit while Shafali was picked for honour in the junior category.

Virender Sharma was adjudged the best umpire in domestic cricket while Vidarbha Cricket Association were presented the best performance award in domestic cricket for wining the Ranji Trophy.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly said, “The BCCI Awards is our way of recognising the finest on-field performances right from the age group to senior level and also honour our legends.”

Board secretary Jay Shah said, “We wanted to make Naman bigger and better and have introduced four new categories— highest run-getter and wicket-takers in WODIs and best international debut men and women — from this year.”

The BCCI awards winners

K. Srikkanth: Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award

Anjum Chopra: BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award for Women

Dilip Doshi: BCCI Special Award

Cheteshwar Pujara: Dilip Sardesai Highest Run-getter in Test cricket

Jasprit Bumrah: Dilip Sardesai Highest Wickets in Test cricket

Smriti Mandhana: Highest Run-getter in Women’s ODIs

Jhulan Goswami: Highest Wickets in Women’s ODIs

Mayank Agarwal: Best International Debut (men)

Shafali Verma: Best International Debut (women)

Shivam Dube (Mumbai): Lala Amarnath Award for Best Allrounder in Ranji Trophy cricket

Nitish Rana (Delhi): Lala Amarnath Award for Best Allrounder in Limited-overs Competitions

Milind Kumar (Sikkim): Madhavrao Scindia Award for Highest Run-getter in Ranji Trophy

Ashutosh Aman (Bihar): Madhavrao Scindia Award for Highest Wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy

Vidarbha CA: Best performance in BCCI domestic tournaments

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Register to The Hindu for free and get unlimited access for 30 days.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Not convinced? Know why you should pay for news.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper ,crossword, iPhone, iPad mobile applications and print. Our plans enhance your reading experience.

Source link